Home > Tibet Travel Guide > History of Tibet > Note on geographical terms

History of Tibet Guide

Note on geographical terms

Tibet was traditionally comprised of three main areas: Amdo (north-eastern Tibet), Kham (eastern Tibet)

and U-Tsang (central and western Tibet). The Tibet Autonomous Region (Chinese: Xizang Zizhiqu) was

set up by the Chinese government in 1965 and covers the area of Tibet west of the Yangste River, including

part of Kham, although it is often referred to now as ‘central Tibet’ in English. The rest of Amdo and

Kham have been incorporated into Chinese provinces, and where Tibetan communities were said to have

‘compact inhabitancy’ in these provinces they were designated Tibetan autonomous prefectures and counties.

As a result most of Qinghai and parts of Gansu, Sichuan and Yunnan provinces are acknowledged by the

Chinese authorities to be ‘Tibetan’. The term ‘Tibet’ in this report is used to refer to all these Tibetan areas

currently under the jurisdiction of the People’s Republic of China.

Unwrap the Experience with the

Tibet dream footprint,Snowy paradise,Sacred to the extreme

Travel Tibet China(traveltibetchina.com) provides a platform for those tourists who want to visit Tibet in groups,which helps them solve the problem of being unable to group together with others. Grouping travel countries include America、England、Germany etc.The dream of visiting Tibet will come true for you if you have it,Travel Tibet China!

Tibet tourism is a "go on" trip!
Tibet tourism brand with high quality, Traveltibetchina.com take you to tour around in Tibet

Get free travel information!

[email protected]